HTC Sensation Deathgrip? – My Arse!

Ok, so a little while ago videos started popping up on the internet seemingly demonstrating an issue with the new HTC Sensation mobile phone.  (Couple examples of the vids here and here).  The issue was apparently similar to the problems experienced by users of the iphone 4 when it was launched (the infamous iphone 4 Deathgrip!) – except this time, the problems were even worse – as with the Sensation the “fault” was reported as cutting out not only the voice signal but the WiFi and Bluetooth signals too.

Needless to say, as someone that had been eagerly awaiting the release of the all singing, all dancing, new wonderphone from HTC, these videos were a serious point of contention in my plans to acquire a new bit of gadge!  I was seriously crestfallen that I was gonna be denied the new toy that I’d been looking forward to for so long – or that I’d get it, only to be disappointed like all those poor iphoney’s before me.

Still, as there hadn’t been much follow-up publicity about the issue by the time the unbranded unlocked version landed, I decided to take the plunge and buy the beast.  But even as I unpacked my new bundle of joy I was harbouring nervous doubts – wondering if I was about to be throwing the thing  – maddened by the curse of the “Deathgrip” – my hopes of gadget joy dashed along with my phone against the wall.  So, were my fears unfounded? see my vid for the answer (although you’ve probably already guessed).

P.S. The mobile voice signal fluctuating around 2 bars is normal when I’m here at home. Actual calls are still crystal clear though.

Thanks for watching.

Leave a Reply

